Hungary Ethnicity

Hungary is located in Central Europe, bordered by Austria to the west, Slovakia to the north, Ukraine to the northeast, Romania to the east, Serbia to the south, Croatia to the southwest, and Slovenia to the west. Its geographical coordinates are approximately 47.1625° N latitude and 19.5033° E longitude.



Hungary has a temperate continental climate, with hot summers and cold winters. The country experiences four distinct seasons, with precipitation evenly distributed throughout the year.


Hungary’s fauna is diverse, with various species of mammals, birds, and reptiles inhabiting its forests, plains, and wetlands. Common mammals include deer, wild boar, and foxes, while bird species include storks, herons, and eagles.

Longest Rivers:

The longest river in Hungary is the Danube, which flows for approximately 417 kilometers (259 miles) through the country. The Tisza is another significant river, stretching for about 597 kilometers (371 miles) within Hungary’s borders.

Highest Mountains:

Hungary is relatively flat, and its highest point is Kékes, a mountain in the Mátra range, reaching an elevation of 1,014 meters (3,327 feet) above sea level.



The territory of present-day Hungary has been inhabited since ancient times, with evidence of human presence dating back to the Paleolithic era. Various tribes and cultures, including the Celts and Romans, settled in the region before the arrival of the Magyars in the 9th century.

Medieval Kingdom:

The Kingdom of Hungary was established in 1000 AD when King Stephen I was crowned the first Christian king. Hungary flourished during the medieval period, becoming one of the most powerful states in Europe under rulers like Matthias Corvinus.

Ottoman Rule:

In the 16th century, Hungary fell under Ottoman rule following the Battle of Mohács in 1526. The country remained divided between the Ottoman Empire and the Habsburg Monarchy for over 150 years until the Habsburgs regained control.

Austro-Hungarian Empire:

In 1867, Hungary entered into a dual monarchy known as the Austro-Hungarian Empire, which lasted until the end of World War I. After the war, Hungary lost significant territory and became a republic.

World War II and Communism:

Hungary allied with Nazi Germany during World War II but later fell under Soviet influence and became a communist state after the war. The Hungarian Revolution of 1956 attempted to overthrow communist rule but was brutally suppressed by Soviet forces.

Modern Era:

Hungary transitioned to a democratic system after the fall of communism in 1989. The country joined NATO in 1999 and the European Union in 2004, undergoing significant political and economic reforms.


Hungary has a population of approximately 9.7 million people, with a relatively homogeneous ethnic makeup. The majority of the population is Hungarian, with small minorities of Roma, Germans, Slovaks, and others. The official language is Hungarian, and the predominant religion is Roman Catholicism.

Administrative Divisions

Hungary is divided into 19 counties (megyék) and the capital city of Budapest, which is also its own administrative division. The administrative divisions of Hungary, along with their respective populations, are as follows:

  1. Budapest – Population: 1.8 million
  2. Baranya – Population: 370,000
  3. Bács-Kiskun – Population: 520,000
  4. Békés – Population: 360,000
  5. Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén – Population: Approximately 660,000
  6. Csongrád-Csanád – Population: 440,000
  7. Fejér – Population: 430,000
  8. Győr-Moson-Sopron – Population: 470,000
  9. Hajdú-Bihar – Population: 550,000
  10. Heves – Population: 300,000
  11. Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok – Population: Approximately 390,000
  12. Komárom-Esztergom – Population: 290,000
  13. Nógrád – Population: 180,000
  14. Pest – Population: 1.3 million
  15. Somogy – Population: 300,000
  16. Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg – Population: Approximately 550,000
  17. Tolna – Population: 230,000
  18. Vas – Population: 250,000
  19. Veszprém – Population: 350,000
  20. Zala – Population: 290,000

10 Largest Cities by Population

The largest cities in Hungary by population include:

  1. Budapest
  2. Debrecen
  3. Szeged
  4. Miskolc
  5. Pécs
  6. Győr
  7. Nyíregyháza
  8. Kecskemét
  9. Székesfehérvár
  10. Szombathely

Education Systems

Education in Hungary is free and compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 16. The country has a well-developed education system, with numerous universities and colleges offering a wide range of programs. Some of the top universities in Hungary include Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, and the University of Debrecen.



Hungary has several international airports, with Budapest Ferenc Liszt International Airport being the largest and busiest. Other major airports include Debrecen International Airport, Győr-Pér International Airport, and Sármellék International Airport.


Hungary has an extensive railway network, with Hungarian State Railways (MÁV) operating both domestic and international train services. The total length of the railway network in Hungary is approximately 7,945 kilometers (4,939 miles).


Hungary has a well-developed road network, including several highways and expressways. The total length of highways in Hungary is approximately 1,406 kilometers (874 miles), with major routes connecting Budapest to other major cities and neighboring countries.


Hungary is a landlocked country and does not have access to the sea. However, the country has several ports along the Danube River, including Budapest, Mohács, and Baja, which handle cargo and passenger traffic.

Country Facts

  • Population: Approximately 9.7 million
  • Capital: Budapest
  • Official Language: Hungarian
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Ethnic Groups: Hungarian, Roma, German, Slovak
  • Currency: Hungarian Forint (HUF)
  • ISO Country Code: HU
  • International Calling Code: +36
  • Top-Level Domain: .hu