Brunei 2018

Yearbook 2018

Brunei. In January, the country’s ruler, Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, carried out a government reform and replaced six of the ministers. According to, Bandar Seri Begawan is the capital city of Brunei, a country located in Southeastern Asia. The latest more extensive change in the government’s composition took place in October 2015 and usually the restructuring takes place every five years. The one-sided sultan himself holds the positions of head of government as well as finance, foreign, trade and defense minister. In that latter role, he met in February with Admiral Harry B. Harris Jr., commander of the US Pacific Command. The meeting led to an agreement to strengthen the defense policy ties between the countries.

Brunei Bandar Seri Begawan Tourist Attractions 2

In September, Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohamad visited Brunei. The agenda included the issue of the planned major highway between the two Malaysian states of Borneo, Sarawak and Sabah. The question has been whether the road would pass through Brunei, but this will not be the case, partly for cost reasons and partly because of the migration issues that could then arise.

You may also like...