Cities and Regions in Zambia

Zambia has been divided into ten provinces since 2011:


According to extrareference, the northern province (Northern) of Zambia with the provincial capital Kasama has approx. 1,105,820 residents (2010 census) and covers an area of 77,650 km², which is divided into 12 districts. Due to the poor traffic development, the northern province is one of the most untouched but also poorest regions in the country. In addition to coffee cultivation, tourism is developing with the numerous scenic attractions such as Lake Tanganyika, Lake Bangweulus and Lake Mweru Wantipa, as well as a number of waterfalls on the Kalungwishi River (the Lumangwe Falls, the Chishimba Falls and the Kalambo Falls) and the national parks (North Luangwa National Park, Luambe National Park) to a modest economic source.


To the west of the northern province, in the rain belt of the Central African plateau (Bangweulubassin), lies the province of Luapula, which covers an area of ​​50,567 km² and is home to around 1.2 million people. The main industry in the region is fishing on the Luapala river of the same name. The provincial capital is the city of Mansa.


East of the province of Luapula is the province of Muchinga with 711,657 residents (2010 census) on an area of 87,806 km². The capital of the province is called Chinsali. The province, which was only founded in 2011, is now divided into 7 districts after initially 5 districts. Muchinga took its name from the mountains of the same name.


The 69,106 km² eastern province with almost 2 million people is located south of the Muchinga province. It is divided into 7 districts with the capital Chipata. Over 80% of the population live below the poverty line. The South Luangwa National Park belongs to the eastern province of Zambia, and although it generates considerable income from the safari business, it only goes to the relevant authorities.


The central province in the middle of Zambia covers an area of 94,393 km² which is divided into six districts. In the central province with the capital Kabwe, around 1.4 million people (2010 census) live mainly from agriculture. There is also mining, manufacturing, the best-developed tourism sector in Zambia and, above all, services on the transport routes.


The province of Copperbelt, which covers 31,328 km², is primarily known for its geologically significant copper and precious metal deposits and the resulting copper mining. The geological unit and the closely related mining industry zone Copperbelt extends into the Democratic Republic of the Congo and contains more than a tenth of the world’s copper deposits. Around 2.5 million people live here in the 10 districts with the capital Ndola. Mining is the main industry in the most developed region of Zambia.


With 21,896 km² the province of Lusaka with the capital of the same name is the smallest province of Zambia in terms of area and with an estimated number of 3 million residents the most populous. The province in the south of the central province is divided into 5 districts and is home to the Lower Zambezi National Park. The region benefits economically from the state capital as the economic and political center of Zambia.


The southern province comprises the southernmost part of Zambia with an area of ​​85,283 km², on which about 1.5 million people live. It borders on the Zambezi, which also forms the border river to the southern Zimbabwe, and is divided into 11 districts. The administrative capital is Livingstone, near the famous Victoria Falls (Victoria Falls) with the associated national park. The southern province is the breadbasket of Zambia and at the same time the country’s energy supply is ensured here via various hydropower plants at the Kafue reservoirs and coal mining at Maamba. Tourism with the national parks of Kafue, Victoria Falls and Blue Lagoon is slowly developing into another economic factor in the province.


Located west of the Copperbelt and Central Province, the northwestern province with the capital Solwezi is one of the most sparsely populated provinces of Zambia with an area of 125.826 km² and only about 580,000 residents. Most of the people here live on agriculture for their own needs. The north-western province, which is divided into 7 districts, is characterized by the three mighty rivers Zambezi, Kafue and Kabompo, which provide huge seasonal flood areas and poor traffic conditions, by wide grass steppes, impassable Kalahari sands and endless Miombo forests. The headwaters of the Zambezi are also located on the edge of the northwestern province of Zambia.


The western province lies in the west of Zambia, on the border with Angola and Namibia and was the former kingdom of Barotse. The sparsely populated province with the capital Mongu has approx. 903,000 residents and covers 126,386 km² of land, which was originally inhabited by the Reds (Lozi). Barotseland declared itself unilaterally independent on March 26, 2012 because the new government of Zambia had not complied with the 1964 Autonomy Agreement. Despite the fact that the region has certain autonomy rights, the royal family is striving for complete independence from Zambia. Barotseland or the western province is divided into 7 districts and the least developed region in Zambia with only two paved roads and no infrastructure outside of the capital Mongu. In addition, large areas of deep sand make the transport connections between the towns and the capital more difficult. The province’s landscape consists essentially of Kalahari sand areas, floodplains and pastures. The population lives mainly from cattle breeding and maize cultivation, which, however, is critical of the periodic flooding. Hunger is therefore endemic in this province. The western province is home to the inaccessible Liuwa Plain National Park and the Sioma Ngweizi National Park. Hunger is therefore endemic in this province. The western province is home to the inaccessible Liuwa Plain National Park and the Sioma Ngweizi National Park. Hunger is therefore endemic in this province. The western province is home to the inaccessible Liuwa Plain National Park and the Sioma Ngweizi National Park.


You may also like...