Slovenia 2018

Yearbook 2018

Slovenia. According to, Ljubljana is the capital city of Slovenia, a country located in Southern Europe. Extravasation for the country’s National Assembly was held in early June after Prime Minister Miro Cerar chose in March to resign. This resigned because the country’s highest court annulled a referendum that had approved a rail project worth around EUR 1 billion.

Slovenia Ljubljana Tourist Attractions 2

At the election, xenophobic Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS) won, which got about 25% of the vote. The second largest party was the former comedian Marjan Šarec’s anti-tabloid movement LMS (Marjan Šarec’s list), which received 12.7% of the votes. In third place came the Social Democrats (SD) with about 10%. Outgoing Prime Minister Miro Cerars Modern Center Party (SMC) received only 9.7% (winning the 2014 extra-election with 34.5% of the vote) and the Coalition united left (ZL) 9.2%. SDS can, however, have problems with collaboration; only New Slovenia (NSI), which received 7.1%, has agreed to cooperate with SDS. The turnout was just over 51%.

After the election, President Borut Pahor asked the leader of the xenophobic Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS), Janez Jansa, to form government. When this failed, Marjan Šarec from LMS was appointed prime minister instead. Šarec, which has excluded cooperation with xenophobic SDS, took office in September with a government consisting of five left and center parties, including LMS, SD and SMC.

Bank of Slovenia Central Bank of the Republic of Slovenia, headquartered in Ljubljana, established in 1991 by the Bank of Slovenia Act. The B. of Slovenia participates in the European System of Central Banks (➔) since May 1st 2004, after the entry of Slovenia into the European Union. Since 1 January 2007, following Slovenia’s accession to the single European currency, it has been involved in monetary policy decisions in the euro area and fulfilled the other tasks assigned to it as a component central bank of the Eurosystem (➔). Its functions also include that of supervising the country’s credit system.

SLOVENIA. – Region of north-western Yugoslavia, which coincides with the Drava banat (Dravska banovina) and extends over a territory of 15,849 sq km, equal to only the fifteenth part of the state. Before the World War it depended on the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy and was part of Carniola (except for Istria and Postojna, which later became part of Italy), of Styria (about 6000 sq km, a little less than a third of this region) and Carinthia (few municipalities). Given its position on the border with Italy and the long Austrian domination (which lasted for almost seven centuries), it is among the countries of Yugoslavia the one that most differs from the Balkan world, sentinel advanced towards the west of the Slavic world.

Slovenia is roughly in the shape of a triangle; the western side from Mt Forno (near the Rateče saddle) to Mt Nevoso rests on the Julian Alps (Mt Tricorno, 2864 m) and on the Carso and coincides with the Italo-Yugoslav border; the northern side is marked by the Austrian border (and in the last Hungarian stretch), while that of SE. it follows a line that joins Mount Nevoso to Risniak (1528m), then the course of the Culpa and the Uskok mountains; it crosses the Sava, then follows a tributary of this (Sotla), to reach SO.-NE. the Drava, which it accompanies for a while; then he leaves it to lean on the Mur up to the Hungarian border.


Ljubljana, German Laibach, capital of Slovenia; 280,300 residents (2017). Ljubljana, which is located in the Ljubljanica valley in the Julian Alps, has developed into a major industrial city after the Second World War, including the engineering, electrical and textile industries. The city is an important traffic hub and has a university, a science academy, opera, etc. The architecture is characterized by a mixture of Austrian and Italian style. Among the building memories that survived the earthquake in 1895 are the Franciscan Church (1640–60) and St. Nicholas Church (1701–08), both in Baroque.

Ljubljana was founded as a Roman colony under Emperor Tiberius and belonged to various princes’ houses in the Middle Ages to finally go to the Habsburg house. Ljubljana was granted city rights in 1320 and became the seat of the bishop in 1461. From 1809 to 13, Ljubljana was the capital of Napoleon’s Illyrian provinces. In Ljubljana, the so-called Laibach Congress was held in 1821, one of the congresses which aimed to bring about a major power intervention against the liberal revolutions in southern Europe. The city became the center of the Slovenian nationalist movement during the 19th century, 1945 capital of the Slovenian sub-republic and 1991 capital of independent Slovenia.

You may also like...