Luxembourg 2018

Yearbook 2018

Luxembourg. At the October 14 parliamentary elections, the incumbent Prime Minister Xavier Bettel’s coalition defeated the Liberal Democratic Party (16.9%), the Social Democratic Socialist Labor Party (17.6%) and the Green Party (15.1%). The coalition thus gained a scarce majority with 31 of the parliament’s 60 seats. According to, Luxembourg is the capital city of Luxembourg, a country located in Western Europe. The largest individual party, however, became the Christian Democratic Christian Social Party, which received 28.3% of the vote. Luxembourg has a parliamentary election every five years; all citizens over the age of 18 are obliged to take part in the elections, otherwise fines of up to EUR 1,000 are waiting. However, it is over 50 years since anyone was convicted for voice interpreting.

Luxembourg Tourist Attractions 2

In December, Xavier Bettel formally assumed his second term as prime minister in a government coalition that looks the same as in the first period – liberals, social democrats and environmentalists. One of Bettel’s election promises was to make Luxembourg the first country in the world with free public transport.

You may also like...